Burger Review: Mooyah

If you read my other blog or know me in real life, you know I injured my stupid foot running. As I enjoy running a great deal, having an injury is a super bummer for me and as a result, not only have I been forced to lay around and rest (which means I have more time to blog!) but have also earned the right to eat my feelings via a big, fat, juicy hamburger. YES.

So after one whole year, The Hamburger Blogger is finally back and up first is a review of my lunch yesterday at Mooyah in Walnut Creek.

I had seen Mooyah before and always wanted to try it and yesterday was my first time. My children and I arrived just a bit before noon and it was already pretty packed- with a gorgeous day, outdoor seating, and the smell of fresh french fries wafting through the air, we stepped in and began to decipher their huge, step-by-step menu.

As I was trying to decide what to order all 3 of us, I noticed a tiny table at the front of the restaurant with red pens and forms- here at Mooyah, you take a form, fill out your order (whether it is for here or to go), hand to the cashier and the only words they have to exchange with you is, “That will be $20.32 please.” Pretty efficient!

I chose a 1/2 pound, 2 patty Mooyah burger (I’m upset about my injury, I totally deserve 8 ounces of deliciousness, okay?!) on a whole wheat bun (see, I can be “healthy” too), Mooyah style with grilled mushrooms, took my number and waited, tummy growling…

As I had my kids with me (6 and 7 years old) I was so happy to see that they had a huge chalk board wall and coloring pages to entertain them with!  My kids happily drew and colored until our order was ready.

Happy Campers make for Tastier Burgers
Happy Campers make for Tastier Burgers

Got our order, laid it all out, squirted ketchup, and dug in and YUM, so good!

Note to self: take the *good* camera next time!
Note to self: take the *good* camera next time!

Made of 100% lean American beef, the meat is tasty and very juicy, very basically seasoned which I appreciate. While I appreciate and enjoy a unique flavor, I also really like it when the meat is just pure- you really get to taste beef and nothing else! The bun was soft and delicious- Mooyah claims to respect the bun-to-meat ratio and I can attest that they do.

The cheese was very melty and the onions, instead of cut as circles, were diced and that was a little weird as toward the end of my meal, all the veggies were falling out all over the place.  The fries were decent and fresh, not frozen.

Mooyah seems to ride that line between fast food and high quality as they offer mushrooms, grilled onions, sweet potato fries, blue cheese and it is perfect- and perfectly priced- for just that! Take the kids and have a good meal! You can also like their page on Facebook and get a coupon for a free burger at your next visit!  I will definitely do that and will definitely be back- Moo-YUM!!!

I’m giving Mooyah 4 out of 5 stars because I really like the customization of all the burger options, the efficiency of the ordering and the fact that my kids were totally entertained.  Check out Mooyah online to find a location near you and enjoy!

Leave a comment